Olympic champs Vos, Meares elected to UCI athletes group

BY foxsports • June 12, 2015

AIGLE, Switzerland (AP) Olympic gold medalists Marianne Vos and Anna Meares have been elected to the revived International Cycling Union athletes' commission.

The UCI says the athlete panel's leader will join its policy-making management committee.

The 13-member athletes group, elected by all disciplines, will appoint a president when it first meets in about three months.

UCI President Brian Cookson says the athletes group follows ''my concept of modern governance that is founded on dialogue and cooperation between the UCI and cycling's main players.''

Vos of the Netherlands is the 2012 Olympic road race champion and a multiple world champion on the road, track, and in cyclocross.

Australia's Meares is a two-time Olympic track champion.

Both were members of an athletes' commission created by the previous UCI leadership.

share story