Louisiana-Monroe 16, Arkansas St. 10

October 14, 2009

The Warhawks (4-2, 3-0 Sun Belt) have won three straight for their longest conference winning streak since 1992. It also was their best start to a season since the first year in Division I-A (Football Bowl Subdivision) in 1993. Arkansas State (1-4, 0-2) has dropped four in a row.

ULM took a 7-0 lead on the second play when Trey Revell connected with LaGregory Sapp for a 48-yard TD. Revell later left the game after injuring his throwing hand on an interception in the opening possession of the second quarter.

The Warhawks then took advantage of Corey Leonard's fumble late in the first quarter inside the Arkansas State 20-yard line with a 20-yard field goal by Radi Jabour. Goodin added a one-yard TD later to make it 16-0.

Arkansas State cut the deficit to 16-7 on Leonard's 14-yard TD pass to Brandon Thompkins.


Ryan Wilbourn's 49-yard field goal made it 16-10 with 2:32 left in the third quarter, but they could get no closer.