Five Buckeyes named to FWAA 75th anniversary team

BY Marcus Hartman • August 21, 2015

Ohio State football is represented by five all-time greats on the Football Writers Association of America 75th Anniversary All-America team. 

Running back Archie Griffin, offensive lineman Orlando Pace and defensive back Jack Tatum made the first team while offensive lineman John Hicks is on the second team and linebacker Chris Spielman is a third-teamer. 

Only Nebraska managed more selections to the 75-man team than Ohio State. 

Griffin is the only player to win two Heisman Trophies, and his 5,589 career rushing yards are still No. 1 in Ohio State history and second in the Big Ten. He was named an All-American three times. 

Hicks and Pace both two-time All-Americans and were so transcendent as blockers they landed in the top five in Heisman balloting. Hicks was the first player to start three Rose Bowls. 

Spielman is Ohio State's all-time leader in solo tackles and was a two-time All-American. 

share story