Tennis Hall to welcome four new members in 2010

BY foxsports • March 1, 2010

Doubles specialists Todd Woodbridge, Mark Woodforde, Gigi Fernandez and Natasha Zvereva have been elected to the International Tennis Hall of Fame.

Woodbridge and Woodforde -- Australians known as "The Woodies" -- won a record 61 ATP doubles titles together, including 11 major championships. Both also reached the top 20 in the singles rankings.

Fernandez and Zvereva collected 38 titles together, including 14 at Grand Slams. They won six consecutive majors in 1992-93. Overall, Fernandez won 68 doubles titles, 17 at Grand Slams, while Zvereva won 18 majors.

Also being inducted in July: Owen Davidson, a men's and mixed doubles specialist; Brad Parks, pioneer of wheelchair tennis; and the late Derek Hardwick, former chairman of the British Lawn Tennis Association.

in this topic
tennis tennis

share story