UEFA fans' team of year snubs Premier League

UEFA fans' team of year snubs Premier League

Published Jan. 16, 2013 6:27 a.m. ET

UEFA has announced its 2012 Team of the Year, with players from the Premier League teams being snubbed for the second time this month.

The lineup chosen by fans voting at UEFA's website includes players from Spanish, German, Italian and French clubs.

Last week, FIFA announced a World XI elected in a global poll of players run by their union, FIFPro, which only selected Spain-based players.

UEFA says 5.3 million votes were cast for its team:


Iker Casillas (Real Madrid), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Gerard Pique (Barcelona), Thiago Silva (AC Milan and Paris Saint-Germain) Philipp Lahm (Bayern Munich), Andres Iniesta (Barcelona), Xavi Hernandez (Barcelona), Andrea Pirlo (Juventus), Mesut Oezil (Real Madrid), Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid).