South Africa names unchanged side for WCup opener

South Africa names unchanged side for WCup opener

Published Jun. 10, 2010 5:45 p.m. ET

South Africa coach Carlos Alberto Parreira announced the same team for the World Cup opening game against Mexico as it used to beat Denmark 1-0 in its final warmup game.

Parreira told media on the eve of the match Thursday he had no reason to change the lineup and that the players already knew who would start.

Defender Matthew Booth will be on the bench and Lucas Thwala at left back, with Tsepo Masilela missing out on starting the first World Cup game to be staged in Africa.

The lone striker in front of a five-man midfield will be Katlego Mphela, who scored against Denmark at Atteridgeville near Pretoria on Saturday as South Africa stretched its unbeaten run to 12 games.


After facing Mexico, South Africa meets Uruguay and France in Group A.



South Africa: Itumeleng Khune, Siboniso Gaxa, Bongani Khumalo, Aaron Mokoena, Lucas Thwala, Teko Modise, Reneilwe Letsholonyane, Kagisho Dikgacoi, Siphiwe Tshabalala, Steven Pienaar, Katlego Mphela.