Pumas beat Pachuca with late winner

BY foxsports • October 14, 2012

Pumas defeated Pachuca 1-0 on Sunday to move into the playoffs in Mexico's Apertura championship, while Tijuana remains in first place in the league after its 2-2 draw on Saturday against reigning champions Santos Laguna.

Six of the nine scheduled games in Mexico's first division took place this weekend despite many key players being away with national teams playing World Cup qualifiers, with league rules stating a team can only postpone its game if it had four or more players on international duty.

In other weekend results, Chivas and Jaguares drew 1-1, Cruz Azul defeated Queretaro 3-2, San Luis drew 2-2 with Atlante and Leon won 2-0 against Tigres.

Substitute David Izazola scored six minutes from fulltime for Pumas to take the important victory against Hugo Sanchez's Pachuca.

On Saturday, Daniel Luduena netted twice for Santos Laguna, opening the scoring in the 9th and equalizing in the 74th.

American Greg Garza had brought Tijuana level in the 28th before Colombia's Duvier Riascos put it ahead with a header in the 69th.

Chivas took the lead in the 41st, with Antonio Gallardo left unmarked at a corner to head in, but Colombian Luis Rey leveled the scores in the 66th.

Two first half goals from Omar Bravo helped Cruz Azul to the victory against Queretaro.

Bravo got the first in the 9th, before Diego Vera equalized for Queretaro. Bravo again put Cruz Azul into the lead in the 40th, with Mariano Pavone scoring his team's third in the 58th.

Luis Landin completed the scoring in 71st.

Jeronimo Amione netted twice in the last ten minutes to win a point for Atlante against San Luis.

Luis Mendoza had given San Luis the lead in the 2nd and Noe Maya extended it in the 61st.

Recently promoted Leon remained in third position in the league after its victory against Tigres.

Leon took the lead in the first minute, when Matias Britos scored with a diving header. Nelson Maz added the second in the 36th from the penalty spot.

The postponed games between Monterrey and Toluca, Morelia and Atlas and Puebla versus America will be played later in the season.