Mexican League Roundup, Jan. 17

BY foxsports • January 18, 2010

Angel Reyna and Paraguayan striker Salvador Cabanas scored two goals each as America thrashed San Luis 5-1 in the first round of the Mexican Clausura on Sunday.

Reyna opened the scoring in the 10th minute and added a strike in the 64th, while Cabanas found the net in the 52nd and 80th. Argentine midfielder Daniel Montenegro added a goal in the 54th for the Eagles.

Jesus Palacios scored the lone goal for San Luis in the 34th.

On Saturday, reigning champion Monterrey trounced lowly Ciudad Juarez 4-0, while Cruz Azul disappointed in a 1-0 win over Jaguars and Chivas got a comfortable 3-1 victory over Toluca.

Three days after securing a spot in the Copa Libertadores, Rayados showed no signs of fatigue as they pushed around Ciudad Juarez with scores from Hector Morales in the 19th minute, Aldo de Nigris in the 38th, Abraham Carreno in the 78 and Juan Carlos Medina in the 86th.

Monterrey's attack did not missed a beat despite the absence of Chilean striker Humberto Suazo, who is on a loan to Spanish side Real Zaragoza.

Ciudad Juarez looks to be on its way to the second division. This was their 12th loss in their past 19 games.

In Chiapas, the Jaguars missed several scoring chances and the Blue Machine got the win as Javier Orozco came off the bench to head in the winning goal with one minute left to play.

Yasser Corona, Brazilian midfielder Danilinho and Colombian striker Jackson Martinez wasted their chances and the Jaguars lost for the seventh time in their last eight home games at Victor Manuel Reynas stadium.

In Guadalajara, Javier Hernandez scored twice in the first 25 minutes to put Chivas on their way to a comfortable victory over Toluca.

Hernandez, coming off an 11 goal season in the 2009 Apertura, opened the scoring in the 11th and followed with another in the 24th. Carlos Esquivel put the Red Devils on the scoreboard in the 36th, but Alberto Medina sealed the win in the 54th.

In other scores it was: Pachuca 3, Estudiantes 0; Atlante 0, Queretaro 0, Puebla 0, Tigres 1, Santos 3, Morelia 2.

share story