Boca gets past Universidad to finals

BY foxsports • June 21, 2012

Six-time champion Boca Juniors is through to another Copa Libertadores final after holding Universidad de Chile to a 0-0 draw on Thursday, winning the semifinal 2-0 on aggregate.

The Argentine club had won the first leg 2-0 last week at home and managed the scoreless result in Chile to clinch its 10th final in Latin America's premier competition.

Boca Juniors will face Corinthians, which ousted titleholder Santos 2-1 on aggregate after a 1-1 draw in Wednesday's all-Brazilian clash.

The first leg of the final is next week in Buenos Aires, and the decisive game will be in Sao Paulo on July 4.

Boca Juniors will be trying to win its fifth title in the last 12 years, and the first since 2007. The Buenos Aires giants also won the competition in 2003, 2001 and 2000.

Brazilian champion Corinthians has never won the Copa Libertadores. It has five national titles but never had much success internationally. It will be playing in the competition's final for the first time.

Universidad de Chile also was trying to reach the final for the first time. Colo Colo remains the only Chilean club to have won the competition, in 1991.

Needing only a draw, Boca played tight defensively to keep Universidad de Chile from creating too many dangerous opportunities.

But the Chileans still outshot Boca Juniors and twice hit the woodwork in the second half, with Marcelo Diaz in the 54th and Raul Ruidiaz in the 80th. The Argentines also struck the crossbar, in the seventh with a shot by veteran playmaker Juan Roman Riquelme.

Boca Juniors came into the match backed by a good campaign in away matches, winning three times and drawing twice. It's only defeat in this year's Copa Libertadores was a 2-1 loss to Fluminense at home in the group stage.



Universidad de Chile: Johnny Herrera, Matias Rodriguez, Osvaldo Gonzalez (Paulo Magalhaes, 60), Jose Rojas, Eugenio Mena, Charles Aranguiz, Marcelo Diaz, Guillermo Marino, Junior Fernandes (Raul Ruidiaz, 72), Angelo Henriquez, Francisco Castro (Sebastian Ubilla, 45).

Boca Juniors: Agustin Orion, Facundo Roncaglia, Rolando Schiavi, Matias Caruzzo, Clemente Rodriguez, Pablo Ledesma (Diego Rivero, 90), Leandro Somoza, Walter Erviti, Juan Roman Riquelme, Pablo Mouche (Dario Cvitanich, 74), Santiago Silva (Lucas Viatri, 83).

share story