Argentina face Copa America champions Uruguay in group stage

BY foxsports • November 25, 2014

Argentina have been pitted against defending champions Uruguay while Brazil will face Colombia in what promises to be a fascinating group stage of the 2015 Copa America.

The 12-team competition, which includes six of the 16 nations to reach the knock-out stages of this summer's World Cup, kicks off in Santiago, Chile on June 11.

Host nation Chile, who lost out on penalties to Brazil at the World Cup, get the ball rolling in Group A against Ecuador, and must also overcome Bolivia and Mexico, who are one of two guest nations from the Concacaf federation.

Paraguay, who were beaten 3-0 by Uruguay in the 2011 final, have been drawn alongside Argentina and Oscar Tabarez's men, with Jamaica, another Concacaf representative, completing Group B.

Brazil, sixth in the Fifa rankings, have been drawn alongside Colombia, third in the same list, meaning a rematch of the World Cup quarter-final in Fortaleza which finished 2-1 to the Selecao but also saw Neymar ruled out of the tournament with a broken back.

Peru and Venezuela, who disputed the third-place play-off in 2011, complete the third and final group.

The top two sides in each group will qualify for the quarter-finals, while the two most successful third-placed teams will also progress into the knock-out stage.

The Copa America has long showcased South America's best talent, but while Neymar, Alexis Sanchez, Lionel Messi, James Rodriguez, Radamel Falcao and countless others will be on display, Uruguay have admitted that they need a miracle for Luis Suarez to feature.

Uruguay beat Paraguay 3-0 to win the 2011 edition of the Copa America.

The Barcelona striker has served his four-month ban from all football-related activity but his international suspension, which does not include friendlies, will rule him out of the tournament.

Suarez scored four times at Argentina 2011, including the first goal in the final against Paraguay at River Plate's iconic Estadio Monumental.

Next year the Estadio Nacional de Chile, Santiago, will host the final on July 4.

Full draw: 

Group A: Chile, Mexico, Ecuador, Bolivia

Group B: Argentina, Uruguay, Paraguay, Jamaica

Group C: Brazil, Colombia, Peru, Venezuela

More from

Live transfer blog: Latest news from summer window

The summer's most expensive transfers

Transfer talk: 24/7 source for the latest rumors