Alcaraz accepts spitting charge

BY foxsports • November 8, 2011

Alcaraz was caught by television cameras spitting at Richard Stearman towards the end of the Latics' 3-1 defeat at Wolves. Although referee Lee Probert did not see the incident at the time video evidence highlighted the offence and Alcaraz was charged by the FA on Monday. He was given until 6pm on Tuesday to respond to the charge and did so shortly before the deadline. Wigan have also said the defender will be subject to the club's disciplinary process. "Paraguay defender Antolin Alcaraz has accepted the FA's misconduct charge for spitting following the incident at the end of Sunday's Barclays Premier League match against Wolves, which carries an automatic three-match ban," said a Wigan statement. "The matter will be treated with the utmost seriousness and be dealt with internally, according to the club's code of conduct."


share story