Wainwright, Molina awarded NL Gold Gloves

BY foxsports • November 11, 2009

AP Sports Writer

NEW YORK (AP) -- Shortstop Jimmy Rollins won his third consecutive National League Gold Glove and Philadelphia Phillies teammate Shane Victorino won for the second straight time in the outfield on Wednesday.

Rollins became the Phillies fifth three-time winner, joining Mike Schmidt (10), Garry Maddox (eight), Manny Trillo and Scott Rolen (three each).

St. Louis catcher Yadier Molina and San Diego first baseman Adrian Gonzalez also were second-time winners announced on Wednesday.

Adam Wainwright became the first St. Louis pitcher to win since Joaquin Andujar in 1984 and succeeded Greg Maddux, who won his record 18th Gold Glove last year. Wainwright also is a favorite for the NL Cy Young Award after going 19-8 with a 2.63 ERA.

"I would have thought if there was one award that I would never win, or never have a chance to win, that would be a Gold Glove Award," Wainwright said. "There's probably a ton of guys that are better fielders than me."

Los Angeles Dodgers second baseman Orlando Hudson overcame a broken left wrist sustained in August 2008 and won for the fourth time, taking over from Cincinnati's Brandon Phillips even though Hudson lost playing time by September to teammate Ronnie Belliard. Hudson didn't make a single playoffs start for Los Angeles, then became a free agent.

"I had a good season," he said. "I would be interested in coming back."

Third baseman Ryan Zimmerman replaced the New York Mets' David Wright, a boyhood friend, and became only the second Washington player to win the award, joining catcher Earl Battey of the original Senators in 1960.

Houston outfielder Michael Bourn and Dodgers outfielder Matt Kemp also were first-time winners.

Bourn concentrated on fielding during winter ball.

"When I went to the Dominican, I didn't just try to work on my offense. I tried to work on my defense as well," he said. "It helps me a little bit more over there because the ground's a little bit rough and you have harder bounces and so you've got to get used to playing those tough bounces. When it comes to a regular field it made it seem a little easier for me."

Gonzalez, Molina, Rollins and Wainwright each earned $50,000 bonuses, and the price of Gonzalez's 2011 club option increased by $100,000 to $5.7 million. Bourn and Victorino each earned $25,000 bonuses. Hudson and Kemp didn't have bonus provisions in their contracts.

Rawlings began presenting Gold Gloves in 1957. Managers and coaches voted on players in their own leagues before the regular season ended but couldn't select members of their own teams.