Missy Franklin wins 100 free at Mesa meet

Missy Franklin wins 100 free at Mesa meet

Published Apr. 12, 2013 7:21 a.m. ET

Watch a livestream of the competition below.

MESA, Ariz. (AP) -- Olympic swimming champions Missy Franklin, Nathan Adrian and Katie Ledecky won races Thursday night in the Arena Grand Prix.

Franklin won the 100-meter freestyle, finishing in 54.27 seconds. Hungary's Katinka Hosszu was second in 54.60, and fellow Olympic gold medalist Natalie Coughlin followed in 54.61.

"I knew it was going to be a really hard race," said Franklin, set to swim three events Friday. "I'm thrilled with my time and am really happy where I am right now."

Franklin will swim three events on Friday.

Adrian followed with a convincing win in the men’s 100 free, finishing in 48.42 to best runner-up Ricky Berens (49.06), and South Africa’s Darian Townsend (49.73), who trains in Tucson.

Ledecky, the London gold medalist at 800 meters, cruised to a six-second victory in the 400m free, winning in 4:05.21.

Breeja Larson, a Mesa native and 2012 Olympian, won the women's 200 breast in 2:28.03. Olympian Caitlin Leverenz of Tucson was second in 2:29.31.

B.J. Johnson took the men's race in 2:14.51, eating Mike Alexandrov and Olympian Clark Burckle of Tucson.

Olympian Matt McLean won the 400 free in 3:51.95, Olympian Claire Donahue took the women's 100 butterfly in 59.58, and Poland's Marcin Tarczynski won the men's race in 52.83.

Watch live streaming video from liveswim at livestream.com