Ledecky, Dwyer win 200 free titles at Arena Pro Swim meet

Ledecky, Dwyer win 200 free titles at Arena Pro Swim meet

Updated Mar. 4, 2020 3:24 p.m. ET

MESA, Ariz. (AP) Katie Ledecky and Conor Dwyer won the 200-meter freestyle races at the Arena Pro Swim meet Thursday night, with Missy Franklin and Michael Phelps winning their consolation finals in the event.

Ledecky led all the way to touch in 1 minute, 55.71 seconds in hot, breezy conditions at Skyline Aquatic Center. Allison Schmitt was second in 1:56.52.

''I'm used to having someone right there in the 200, and I'm getting more comfortable,'' said Ledecky, who has little competition in her distance races.

Franklin also led her final throughout, winning in 1:58.64 with the U.S. Olympic trials just over two months away.


''Everyone is at different points in season,'' Ledecky said. ''You have to swim fast in the morning to make it back. I'm always faster at night, so I kind of challenged myself in the morning.''

Dwyer controlled the men's final throughout, finishing in 1:46.61. Cristian Quintero was second in 1:48.10 and Ryan Lochte third in 1:48.85.

''I saw Michael post a good time in the `B' final and I wanted to beat that,'' Dwyer said. ''I kind of wanted to throw together a good time, make a statement.''

In the consolation final, Phelps established a lead he never gave up after the opening 50 meters and finished in 1:48.21. If he had swam in the `A' final, Phelps would have been third instead of Lochte.

''I was able to get confidence back in that race,'' Phelps said. ''I haven't swum a good 200 since 2008. I haven't felt anywhere close to my stroke in the last two or three years.''

Phelps said he isn't sure he will compete in the 200 free at the trials in June, although he would need to post a faster time at some point in order to be in the relay mix for the Rio Games.

In other events, Youssef El Kamash won the 100 breaststroke in 1:01.31; Katie Meili took the women's 100 breast in 1:06.49; Seth Subblefield won the 100 butterfly in 52.53 seconds; Dana Vollmer won the women's 100 fly in 56.94; 17-year-old Sean Grieshop won the 400 individual medley in 4:18.75 over Ous Mellouli of Tunisia; and Katinka Hosszu of Hungary won the women's 400 IM in 4:35.81.