Jennings named to Rookie-Sophomore game again

BY foxsports • February 2, 2011

Posted: February 2, 2011 1:22 p.m. CT

Milwaukee Bucks guard Brandon Jennings has been named to the 2011 T-Mobile Rookie Challenge & Youth Jam in Los Angeles on February 18, the NBA announced today.

Jennings, 21, is in his second year in the NBA and averaging a career-best 17.1 points to go along with 5.3 assists, 3.0 rebounds and 1.1 steals in 33.9 minutes in 27 games (25 starts). On October 30, 2010, Jennings recorded his first career triple-double to become just the second player in NBA history (along with Elgin Baylor) to score 50-plus points and have a triple in their first 100 NBA games. Jennings participated in the Rookie-Sophomore game last season and contributed 22 points, eight assists, six rebounds and four steals to help the rookies to a 140-128 victory.

The head coaches for the Rookie and Sophomore teams will be the lead assistants from the 2011 NBA All-Star Game coaching staffs. The San Antonio Spurs coaching staff will lead the West All-Stars last week; assistant coach Mike Budenholzer will lead the Rookie team. The East coaching staff will be determined by the best record in the conference through games as of February 6.

Assistant coaches for the Rookies are All-Star Amar'e Stoudemire of the New York Knicks and NBA TV/TNT analyst Kevin McHale. The assistant coaches for the Sophomores are All-Star Carmelo Anthony of the Denver Nuggets and TNT NBA basketball analyst Steve Kerr.

The T-Mobile Rookie Challenge & Youth Jam will be televised live nationally on TNT at 8 p.m. CT and also will be broadcast live on ESPN Radio, while will make live audio available to fans in multiple languages.

Rosters for the 2011 T-Mobile Rookie Challenge & Youth Jam:

Rookies: Eric Bledsoe (L.A. Clippers), DeMarcus Cousins (Sacramento), Derrick Favors (New Jersey), Landry Fields (New York), Blake Griffin (L.A. Clippers), Wesley Johnson (Minnesota), Greg Monroe (Detroit), Gary Neal (San Antonio) and John Wall (Washington).

Sophomores: DeJuan Blair (San Antonio), DeMar DeRozan (Toronto), Stephen Curry (Golden State), Tyreke Evans (Sacramento), Taj Gibson (Chicago), Jrue Holiday (Philadelphia), Serge Ibaka (Oklahoma City), Brandon Jennings (Milwaukee) and Wesley Matthews (Portland).

share story