India wins toss, bats in test against New Zealand

BY foxsports • September 30, 2016

KOLKATA, India (AP) India won the toss and elected to bat in the second test against New Zealand in Kolkata on Friday.

Captain Kane Williamson was ruled out with a fever, a big blow for the visitors as they seek a strong reply after losing the first Test in Kanpur by 197 runs.

Henry Nicholls was named as his replacement, with Ross Taylor to lead the Black Caps. New Zealand made two other changes, bringing in Jeetan Patel and Matt Henry for Ish Sodhi and Mark Craig (injured). Henry's inclusion makes for a three-pacer attack, suited to the green-tinged Eden Gardens' pitch.

India also made two changes, with Shikhar Dhawan replacing Lokesh Rahul, who is nursing a strained hamstring, while Bhuvneshwar Kumar came in for Umesh Yadav.

This is India's 250th Test on home soil. The hosts are unbeaten in their last 11 Tests under Virat Kohli's leadership.

share story