Goldschmidt wins Hank Aaron Award as NL's best hitter

BY foxsports • October 27, 2013

Diamondbacks first baseman Paul Goldschmidt was announced Monday as the winner of the National League's Hank Aaron Award, which goes to the most outstanding hitter as chosen by Major League Baseball.

Tigers third baseman Miguel Cabrera won the American League award for the second consecutive season.

"It's just a huge honor to win this award and just really to be mentioned with a lot of great players from the past and also this year," Goldschmidt said. "There's so many great players in Major League Baseball, and it's just a huge honor to even be mentioned with those guys. And to win the award is even better."

Goldschmidt, who was named to his first All-Star Game this year, hit
.302 with 36 doubles, 36 home runs, 125 RBIs, 99 walks and 103 runs
scored in his second full season with the Diamondbacks. He led the
National League in homers, RBIs, slugging percentage (.551), extra-base
hits (75) and total bases (332). He also ranked third in walks, tied for
third in runs scored, fourth in-base percentage (.401) and tied for
10th in doubles. He is just the 19th player since 1977 to lead the
National League or tie for the lead in home runs and RBIs in a single

The 26-year-old also tied for first in the majors in
go-ahead RBIs (37), go-ahead home runs (20), walk-off homers (3) and
home runs after the eighth inning (7), while tying for the lead in
game-winning RBIs (19) and RBI with runners in scoring position (84).

Texas State product and 2009 eight-round draft pick of the Diamondbacks
joined Hall of Famers Mel Ott and Eddie Mathews as the only three
National League players to post a .300 average, 35 home runs, 100 RBIs,
100 runs scored and 99 walks during their 25-year-old season or earlier.

"I want to extend my congratulations to Miguel Cabrera and Paul Goldschmidt on being selected as the winners of the 2013 Hank Aaron Award, an award named after one of the greatest players in the history of baseball," Commissioner Bud Selig said in a statement. "Miguel completed another stellar season this year, including winning his third batting title. Paul was an offensive force on the Diamondbacks and in the National League.”

Added Aaron: “It is a privilege to have the award that recognizes the most outstanding offensive performer in each league named after me. I want to congratulate Miguel and Paul on their outstanding seasons and extend my thanks to the Hall of Famers and fans who selected the winners.”

The Hank Aaron Award, introduced in 1999, is voted on by a panel of Hall of Fame players and fans on Goldschmidt is the first Diamondbacks player to win the award.