FOX Sports Southwest earns all-time high 28 Lone Star Emmy nominations

BY foxsports • October 1, 2013

FOX Sports Southwest has received 28 nominations in 17 categories for the 2013 Lone Star Emmys honoring broadcast excellence in Texas as announced by the Lone Star Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences.

The winners will be announced Nov. 9 at the 11th Annual Lone Star Emmy Awards in San Antonio.

The 28 nominations are an all-time high for FOX Sports Southwest, and includes the seventh consecutive year the network has been nominated for Station Excellence, the highest award presented to the top television station in Texas.
FOX Sports Southwest’s 2013 Lone Star Emmy nominations:

Station Excellence
– FOX Sports Southwest – Jon Heidtke, Mike Anastassiou, Edward Pete, Paul McConnell, Dave Evans

Human Interest – Program Feature/Segment
– The Josh Stewart Story – Clark Rowe, Greg Flick, Dana Larson

Children/Youth/Teen-Program Feature/Segment
– High School Football And Texas–Doesn’t Get Any Better – Neil Beasley, Jeff Irwin, Clark Rowe

Specialty Assignment Report – Program/Special/Feature/Segment
– National Signing Day Special – Matt Scales, Ric Renner, Elsy Watkins, Paul McConnell  

Sports – Program Feature/Segment
– Oklahoma State Football Preview – Greg Flick, Clark Rowe, Dana Larson, Chris Fitzpatrick  

– Texas Motor Speedway Media Day Feature – Gary Kubik, Dustin Whiteside

Sports – Daily or Weekly Program
– Big 12 Live – Gary Kubik, Edward Pete, Mike Anastassiou, Paul McConnell, Ric Renner

– Big 12 No Huddle: Baylor vs. Texas Tech – Clark Rowe, Greg Flick

– Spotlight on the Spotlight – Neil Beasley, Jeff Irwin, Clark Rowe

Sports – Program Series
– Mavs Insider – Christopher Schneider, Ro Parrish, Ali Dudek, Dustin Whiteside

– Rangers Live, Presented by Esurance – Dale Gerlach, Mike Anastassiou, Dana Larson, Dave Evans

– Spurs Live Playoff Edition – Mike Anastassiou, Amanda Bowditch, Ric Renner, Andrew Monaco, Dave Evans, Paul McConnell, Ed Petersen, Clark Rowe

Sports – Documentary
– Wurzburg To Worldwide: How Dirk Became Dirk! – Cash Sirois, Mike Anastassiou, Mark Cuban, Terdema Ussery, Paul Monroe, Mark Followill, Greg Flick, Christopher Schneider, Chris Fitzpatrick, Tom Ward, Joanna Jutsum  

Sports – One Time Special
– The Best of the "DQ Big Game of the Week" – Neil Beasley, Jeff Irwin, Clark Rowe, Jon Heidtke, Dr. Charles Breithaupt

– The Texas Rangers Top 40 Countdown – Greg Flick, Joel Grunberger, Mike Anastassiou, Chris Fitzpatrick, Stephen Schaub, John Rhadigan, Dana Larson  

Sporting Event/Game – Live/Unedited – Program/Special/Series
– Big 12 Football: Iowa State vs. TCU – Robert Steinfeld, Mike Anastassiou

– C-USA Football: Rice vs. Tulsa – Robert Steinfeld, Mike Anastassiou

Magazine Program – Feature/Segment
– A German Wonder – Cash Sirois, Mike Anastassiou, Greg Flick, Christopher Schneider, Chris Fitzpatrick

Director – Technical Director
– 2012 UIL High School Football Championships – Kevin Lewis, Jeremy Ward

– High School Scoreboard Live – Dennis Lokey

Editor – Sports
– Wurzburg To Worldwide: How Dirk Became Dirk! – Greg Fick

– Texas Rangers Top 40 Countdown Best Moments – Greg Flick

On-Camera Talent – Anchor – Sports
– Ric Renner

On-Camera Talent – Reporter – Features/Human Interest
– The Josh Stewart Story – Dana Larson

On-Camera Talent – Sports Analyst/Play-By-Play
– 2013 Opening Night Dallas Stars vs. Phoenix Coyotes – Ralph Strangis, Daryl Reaugh

– Mavericks Win In Overtime Over The Nuggets – Mark Followill, Derek Harper, Jeff Wade.

– Yu Darvish-Almost Perfection – Steve Busby, Tom Grieve

Photographer – Sports

– Wurzburg To Worldwide: How Dirk Became Dirk! – Christopher Fitzpatrick, Tom Ward

share story