England wins toss, opts to bat in one-off T20 against Pak

BY foxsports • September 7, 2016

MANCHESTER, England (AP) England captain Eoin Morgan won the toss and opted to bat against Pakistan in the one-off Twenty20 international on Wednesday.

Sarfraz Ahmed is leading Pakistan for the first time in a T20 since being appointed skipper after Pakistan's disappointing World Twenty20 tournament in India earlier this year.

Middle order batsman Babar Azam and fast bowler Hasan Ali are making their T20 international debuts for Pakistan with left-arm seamer Sohail Tanvir also returning for the shortest format.

England fielded the same playing XI which was beaten by the West Indies in the World Twenty20 final when Carlos Brathwaite smacked four successive sixes off Ben Stokes to clinch a cliff-hanger.



England: Eoin Morgan (captain), Jason Roy, Alex Hales, Joe Root, Jos Buttler, Ben Stokes, Moeen Ali, Liam Plunkett, Chris Jordan, David Willey, Adil Rashid.

Pakistan: Sarfraz Ahmed (captain), Khalid Latif, Sharjeel Khan, Babar Azam, Mohammad Rizwan, Shoaib Malik, Imad Wasim, Wahab Riaz, Sohail Tanvir, Mohammad Amir, Hasan Ali