England wins toss, bowls in 1st of 5 ODIs vs. Sri Lanka

England wins toss, bowls in 1st of 5 ODIs vs. Sri Lanka

Updated Mar. 5, 2020 1:28 a.m. ET

NOTTINGHAM, England (AP) England captain Eoin Morgan opted to bowl first in the opening one-day international against Sri Lanka at Trent Bridge on Tuesday.

England will take two specialist spinners into the game with Moeen Ali and Adil Rashid, while Jonny Bairstow comes into the limited-overs team at No. 5 in place of the injured Ben Stokes, with Jos Buttler behind the stumps. Chris Jordan and Steven Finn missed out.

England won the test series 2-0 but Sri Lanka has found a little form in the shorter format with two comfortable ODI wins over Ireland.

Sri Lanka was forced to replace quick bowler Shaminda Eranga after his action was found to be illegal by the ICC, and he was then admitted to the hospital in Ireland after experiencing an elevated heart rate.




England: Eoin Morgan (captain), Jason Roy, Alex Hales, Joe Root, Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler, Moeen Ali, Chris Woakes, Adil Rashid, David Willey, Liam Plunkett.

Sri Lanka: Angelo Mathews (captain), Kusal Perera, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Upul Tharanga, Dinesh Chandimal, Dasun Shanaka, Farveez Maharoof, Seekkuge Prasanna, Nuwan Pradeep, Suranga Lakmal.