Carter among 15 Hall of Fame finalists

January 11, 2013

EDEN PRAIRIE, Minn. — Former Minnesota Vikings receiver Cris Carter is hoping the sixth time is a charm.
Carter, who ranks fourth in NFL history with 1,101 catches and fourth with 130 receiving touchdowns, on Friday was named among the 15 modern-era finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame. This is the sixth time Carter has been a finalist.
Joining Carter on the finalists list are offensive lineman Larry Allen, running back Jerome Bettis, receiver Tim Brown, owner Ed. DeBartolo Jr., linebacker Kevin Greene, linebacker Charles Haley, owner Art Modell, offensive tackle Jonathan Ogden, coach and executive Bill Parcells, receiver Andre Reed, defensive tackle Warren Sapp, guard Will Shields, defensive end Michael Strahan and defensive back Aeneas Williams. Defensive tackle Curley Culp and linebacker Dave Robinson are the two senior committee nominees.
Carter's numbers match up with those of the best receivers in NFL history, but he's been left on the outside as receivers have been passed by since Jerry Rice was inducted in 2010. Carter and others have lamented the lack of receivers in the Hall of Fame. Rice is the only receiver inducted in the past four years of voting. Carter, Brown and Reed are each finalists for the fourth year in a row. Reed, the former Buffalo Bills standout, is a seven-time finalist.
Carter, a fourth-round draft pick of the Philadelphia Eagles in 1987, blossomed when he arrived in Minnesota in 1990 and was known for his great hands and keen ability in the red zone. At the time of his retirement in 2002, he was second only to Rice in catches and receiving touchdowns and was third in receiving yards behind Rice and James Lofton.
Carter, an eight-time Pro Bowler and two-time All-Pro, retired with 13,899 receiving yards, which now ranks ninth in league history.
Former Vikings kicker Morten Andersen and running back Roger Craig were semifinalists who weren't included in the 15 modern-era finalists.
The 2013 class will be revealed Feb. 2. Finalists must receive 80 percent of the vote to get in. Enshrinement ceremonies are Aug. 3 in Canton, Ohio.
Follow Brian Hall on Twitter.