Carey repeats as All-American, loses out on Walker Award

Carey repeats as All-American, loses out on Walker Award

Published Dec. 13, 2013 8:50 a.m. ET

TUCSON, Ariz. -- University of Arizona junior Ka'Deem Carey was named to the Walter Camp All-America team for the second consecutive year but was passed over in voting for the Doak Walker Award, presented to the nation's top running back.

The Walker Award went to Boston College's Andre Williams -- the nation's leading rusher. Carey, who led the nation in rushing last year, finished second to Williams in rushing yards per game with an average of 156.0.

The two will compete opn the same stage when Arizona battles Boston College in the AdvoCare V100 Bowl in Shreveport, La., on Dec.30.

Carey was the first offensive player in Arizona history named to the Walter Camp All-America team last season and becomes the first Wildcat to be named to the team in back to back years since Tedy Bruschi earned the honors in 1994 and 1995.

Eight other Arizona players have made the Camp All-America team: Defensive backs Antoine Cason (2007), Chris McAlister (1998), Tony Bouie (1994), Darryll Lewis (1990), Chuck Cecil (1987) and Allan Durden (1985); defensive lineman Rob Waldrop (1993); and linebacker Ricky Hunley (1983).

Carey, the Pac-12 Offensive Player of the Year, is Arizona’s all-time career rushing leader (4,070 yards). He owns or shares 21 single-game, season and career school records and leads all active FBS players in career rushing yards, career touchdowns (50) and consecutive 100-yard rushing games (15).

He was also named to the USA Today All-America team.