Braxton Miller named to Davey O'Brien semifinalist list

Published Oct. 22, 2012 3:30 p.m. EDT

FORT WORTH, Texas - Narrowed down from all 124 starting quarterbacks from NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision schools, semifinalists were selected by the Davey O'Brien National Selection Committee, with the Fan Vote accounting for five percent of the total vote. The committee was asked to consider the following criteria: quarterback skills, athletic ability, academics, character, leadership and sportsmanship.    The 2012 Davey O'Brien Semifinalists represent schools from the following conferences: Big 12 (5), SEC (3), ACC (2), Big Ten (2), Pac-12 (2),Big East (1) and WAC (1).  The list features returning semifinalists Matt Barkley (USC), Tajh Boyd (Clemson), Seth Doege (Texas Tech), Landry Jones (Oklahoma)and Denard Robinson (Michigan).   2012 Davey O'Brien SemifinalistsMatt Barkley, USC, Pac-12Tajh Boyd, Clemson, ACCTeddy Bridgewater, Louisville, Big EastColby Cameron, Louisiana Tech, WACSeth Doege, Texas Tech, Big 12Nick Florence, Baylor, Big 12Landry Jones, Oklahoma, Big 12Collin Klein, Kansas State, Big 12EJ Manuel, Florida State, ACCJohnny Manziel, Texas A&M, SECMarcus Mariota, Oregon, Pac-12AJ McCarron, Alabama, SECBraxton Miller, Ohio State, Big TenAaron Murray, Georgia, SECDenard Robinson, Michigan, Big TenGeno Smith, West Virginia, Big 12  Fans may now help determine which three quarterbacks will advance as finalists by voting as often as once daily at Fan voting will close at noon (CT) on Nov. 18. The three Davey O'Brien finalists will be announced on Monday, Nov. 19 and the 2012 Davey O'Brien winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards airing Thursday, Dec. 6 on ESPN. The 36th Annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner will be held on Feb.18, 2013 in Fort Worth, Texas. About the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award®The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O'Brien) is presented annually to the nation's best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The O'Brien honors candidates who exemplify Davey O'Brien's enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. The O'Brien is overseen by the Davey O'Brien Foundation, which is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, and has given away more than $825,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit  The Davey O'Brien Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association's official website,