Arizona's Wright a finalist for Lombardi, Nagurski awards

BY foxsports • November 20, 2014

TUCSON, Ariz. --€“ Arizona sophomore linebacker Scooby Wright III has been named one of four finalists for the Rotary Lombardi Award and one of five finalists for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy

Wright joins former Wildcat and National Football Foundation Hall of Famer Rob Waldrop as UA's only Nagurski Trophy finalists. (Waldrop won the award in 1993.) He joins Waldrop (1993) and Tedy Bruschi (1994, 1995) as the Wildcats' only other Lombardi Award finalists.

The other finalists for the Lombardi, presented annually by the Rotary Club of Houston to the nation's top lineman or linebacker, are Clemson senior defensive end Vic Beasley, Ohio State sophomore defensive end Joey Bosa, Washington senior linebacker Hau'oli Kikaha.

The other finalists for the Nagurski, which goes to the nation's top defensive player, are Texas defensive tackle Malcolm Brown, Alabama defensive back Landon Collins, Mississippi defensive back Senquez Golson and Louisville defensive back Gerod Holliman.

Wright is the only FBS player to rank in the top 25 individually for each of these four categories: tackles (117), tackles for loss (21.0), sacks (12.0) and forced fumbles (5).

The winner of the Bronko Nagurski Trophy will be announced at the annual Charlotte Touchdown Club awards banquet on Mon., Dec. 8. The winner of the Rotary Lombardi Award will be recognized in Houston on Dec. 10.