Alomar, Martinez, Larkin & McGriff on Hall ballot

Alomar, Martinez, Larkin & McGriff on Hall ballot

Published Nov. 27, 2009 3:30 p.m. ET

NEW YORK (AP) -- Roberto
Alomar is among 15 first-time candidates of this year's Hall of Fame
ballot, joining holdovers Mark McGwire, Andre Dawson and Bert Blyleven.

Edgar Martinez, Barry Larkin and Fred McGriff also are new to the
ballot this year. There are 26 candidates, three more than last year
when Rickey Henderson was elected in his initial appearance and Jim
Rice made it on his 15th and final try. Dawon fell 44 votes shy of the
75 percent needed and Blyleven was 67 short.

Also on the ballot for the first time are Kevin Appier, Ellis Burks,
Andres Galarraga, Pat Hentgen, Mike Jackson, Eric Karros, Ray Lankford,
Shane Reynolds, David Segui, Robin Ventura and Todd Zeile.

Other holdovers on the list announced Friday include Harold Baines, Don
Mattingly, Jack Morris, Dale Murphy, Dave Parker, Tim Raines, Lee Smith
and Alan Trammell.


McGwire, hired last
month as hitting coach of the St. Louis Cardinals, is on the ballot for
the fourth time. While he hit 583 homers, eighth on the career list, he
has been stigmatized since his 2005 congressional testimony, when he
evaded answering whether he had used steroids. He received 118 votes
(22 percent) in last year's vote, down from 128 in each of his first
two tries.

Segui has admitted he used steroids.

Alomar, a 12-time All-Star and 10-time Gold Glove second baseman, had a
.300 batting average, 210 homers and 474 steals in 17 major league

Martinez spent all 18 seasons with
Seattle, winning two AL batting titles and finishing with a .312
average and 309 homers. A seven-time All-Star, he was a designated
hitter in 1,412 of 2,055 career regular-season games.

Larkin was a 12-time All-Star and three-time Gold Glove shortstop in 19
seasons, all with Cincinnati. He had a .295 career average with 198
homers and won the 1995 NL MVP award.

McGriff is tied with Lou Gehrig for 26th on the career home run with
493 and had a .284 average in 19 seasons. He led the AL in homers for
Toronto in 1989 and the NL for San Diego in 1992.

Reporters who have been in the BBWAA for 10 or more consecutive years
are eligible to vote, and results will be announced Jan. 6. Inductions,
which will include anyone elected by the Veterans Committee, are
scheduled for July 25 at Cooperstown. The Veterans Committee vote will
be announced Dec. 7.


The complete ballot: Roberto Alomar, Kevin Appier, Harold Baines, Bert
Blyleven, Ellis Burks, Andre Dawson, Andres Galarraga, Pat Hentgen,
Mike Jackson, Eric Karros, Ray Lankford, Barry Larkin, Edgar Martinez,
Don Mattingly, Fred McGriff, Mark McGwire, Jack Morris, Dale Murphy,
Dave Parker, Tim Raines, Shane Reynolds, David Segui, Lee Smith, Alan
Trammell, Robin Ventura, Todd Zeile