Lewis Hamilton takes back-to-back F1 wins at Canadian GP

Lewis Hamilton takes back-to-back F1 wins at Canadian GP

Published Jun. 12, 2016 3:31 p.m. ET

Lewis Hamilton won Sunday’s Canadian GP after 70 laps the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve at Montreal. It was his second win of the 2016 season, after winning the Monaco GP just two weeks ago. He is now just nine points behind his teammate Nico Rosberg.

On his cool down lap, Hamilton dedicated his win to the late Muhammad Ali, saying over the radio: "Float like a butterfly, sting like a bee - that one was for Muhammad Ali."

It was a Mercedes front-row lockout for the start of the race, but it was a Ferrari leading into the first turn as Sebastian Vettel rocketed off the line after starting in third position.

Hamilton fell back to second while Rosberg was forced off course after slight contact with his teammate in the first turn and dropped back to 10th. Rosberg could only make his way back up to fifth, after spinning while attempting a pass for fourth on Max Verstappen with 2 laps to go.


On Lap 11, the Honda engine on Jenson Button’s McLaren let go, leading to a Virtual Safety Car. Ferrari attempted to take advantage of the situation by bringing its cars down pit road, but then the VSC was lifted.

Kimi Raikkonen dropped outside of the points while Sebastian Vettel dropped behind the Red Bulls. However, Vettel was able to work his way back up into second position.

Vettel moved back up into the top position when Hamilton came in to switch to soft tires on Lap 25. This was his only stop of the race. Vettel, meanwhile, still had to make another stop.

Once Vettel served his second stop later on in the race, he was several seconds back of Lewis Hamilton. However, on newer tires he was able to run Hamilton down, but his run was impeded when he was held up by the Haas F1 car of Romain Grosjean and then ran off course with 14 laps to go, costing him more time. Lewis Hamilton took his fifth Canadian GP win and 45th overall. Valtteri Bottas rounded out the podium in third.

Unofficial race results:

1. Lewis Hamilton - Mercedes
2. Sebastian Vettel - Ferrari
3. Valtteri Bottas - Williams
4. Max Verstappen - Red Bull
5. Nico Rosberg - Mercedes
6. Kimi Raikkonen - Ferrari
7. Daniel Ricciardo - Red Bull
8. Nico Hulkenberg - Force India
9. Carlos Sainz - Toro Rosso
10. Sergio Perez - Force India
11. Fernando Alonso - McLaren
12. Daniil Kvyat - Toro Rosso
13. Esteban Gutierrez - Haas
14. Romain Grosjean - Haas
15. Marcus Ericsson - Sauber
16. Kevin Magnussen - Renault
17. Paschal Wehrlein - Manor
18. Felipe Nasr - Sauber
19. Rio Haryanto - Manor
20. Felipe Massa - Williams (DNF)
21. Jolyon Palmer - Renault (DNF)
22. Jenson Button - McLaren (DNF)