Pennsylvania schools sweep NEC awards

BY foxsports • November 23, 2016

(STATS) - The Northeast Conference handed out its awards Wednesday, with Pennsylvania-based schools Saint Francis, Duquesne and Robert Morris sweeping the five major honors.

Conference champion Saint Francis saw sophomore wide receiver Kamron Lewis win the Offensive Player of the Year award and Chris Villarrial earn Coach of the Year honors for the second straight season. Duquesne senior linebacker Christian Kuntz was named Defensive Player of the Year for the second consecutive season while running back A.J. Hines was selected as Offensive Rookie of the Year. Robert Morris linebacker Gee Stanley took home the Defensive Rookie of the Year award.

Lewis led the FCS in receiving yards (1,349) and ranked in the top 20 in touchdown catches (10) and receptions (69) to help the Red Flash win the NEC title for the first time. Kuntz had a career-high 11 1/2 sacks and 24 tackles for loss, both tying for the second-most in the FCS.

Hines finished sixth in the FCS with 1,291 rushing yards and tied for 10th with 13 TDs on the ground. Stanley amassed 8 1/2 sacks for the second-most by an FCS rookie in 2016.

Saint Francis had a league-high eight spots on the All-NEC first team while co-champion Duquesne earned the most overall selections (13).



OFFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR - Kamron Lewis, WR, Saint Francis

DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR - Christian Kuntz, LB, Duquesne


DEFENSIVE ROOKIE OF THE YEAR - Gee Stanley, LB, Robert Morris

COACH OF THE YEAR - Chris Villarrial, Saint Francis



QB - Dillon Buechel, Duquesne, Sr.

RB - Marcus Bagley, Saint Francis, Jr.

RB - A.J. Hines, Duquesne, Fr.

WR - Wayne Capers, Duquesne, Sr.

WR - Kamron Lewis, Saint Francis, So.

WR - Blair Roberts, Duquesne, Sr.

TE/HB - Ryan Owens, Wagner, Sr.

OL - Matt Diaz, Wagner, Sr.

OL - Sam Freireich, Saint Francis, Jr.

OL - Ben Huss, Duquesne, Jr.

OL - Jimmy Marks, Saint Francis, Sr.

OL - Shane McQuillan, Central Connecticut, Sr.


DL - Jordan Baskerville, Wagner, Jr.

DL - Ryan Lewis, Robert Morris, Sr.

DL - Wesley Nagaseu, Saint Francis, Sr.

DL - Marquise Watson, Bryant, Sr.

LB - Christian Kuntz, Duquesne, Sr.

LB - Randall Laguerre, Central Connecticut, Jr.

LB - Solomon Leaeno, Saint Francis, Sr.

LB - Nathan Stone, Duquesne, Jr.

DB - Marcelis Branch, Robert Morris, Sr.

DB - Lorenzo Jerome, Saint Francis, Sr.

DB - Tim Hayes, Wagner, Sr.

DB - Charles Wingate, Bryant, Sr.


PK - James Cooper, Wagner, Sr.

P - Ed Groth, Central Connecticut, Sr.

RS - Lorenzo Jerome, Saint Francis, Sr.

share story