Jackson, Watson, Browning among 5 Walter Camp finalists

Jackson, Watson, Browning among 5 Walter Camp finalists

Published Nov. 30, 2016 1:31 p.m. ET

NEW HAVEN, Conn. (AP) Quarterbacks Lamar Jackson from Louisville, Deshaun Watson from Clemson and Jake Browning from Washington are among the five the finalists for the Walter Camp player of the year award.

They're joined by defensive stars Jonathan Allen of Alabama and Jabriill Peppers of Michigan.

Jackson is the front-runner for the Heisman Trophy and has accounted for 51 touchdowns.

Watson and Browning will lead their teams into conference championship games this weekend, hoping to earn spots in the College Football Playoff.


Allen is the anchor of a defensive line that's helped the top-ranked Tide allow the fewest points and yards in the country.

Peppers is a versatile linebacker who also returns punts. No. 5 Michigan is right behind Alabama in scoring and total defense.

The Walter Camp winner will be announced Dec. 8.