Deacon Jones Trophy to honor best football players at HBCUs

BY foxsports • August 31, 2016

The Black College Football Hall of Fame has established the Deacon Jones Trophy, which will be awarded yearly to the most outstanding player at a historically black college or university.

The winner will be announced Feb. 25 in Atlanta.

The Black College Football Hall of Fame was founded by former NFL quarterbacks Doug Williams and James Harris. In May, it was announced the BCFHOF will make a permanent home at the Hall of Fame Village in Canton, Ohio, where the Pro Football Hall of Fame is located.

A watch list of 52 players from all levels of college football for the Deacon Jones Trophy was also announced.

Jones played at Mississippi Valley State in the Southwestern Athletic Conference before going on to a Hall of Fame career in the NFL.

share story