Roush Fenway to run three Nationwide teams

As the NASCAR community continues to downsize, Roush Fenway
Racing will eliminate more than 60 jobs across a variety of
departments this week.

With Richard Petty Motorsports cutting back from four Sprint
Cup teams to two for 2011, the fabrication side of Roush Fenway
Racing is directly affected because it has been building the RPM

The good news is RFR will field three Nationwide Series teams
next year. The organization raced with four cars piloted by nine
drivers in 2010.

Carl Edwards will continue to run the No. 60 Ford Mustang, with
Mike Beam as crew chief. Trevor Bayne will have his first
opportunity to run a full-time Nationwide program with one team and
will be under the direction of Chris Andrews. And Ricky Stenhouse
Jr., who pulled off 2010 Raybestos Rookie of the Year honors, will
pilot the No. 6 Ford Mustang led by veteran Nationwide Series chief
Mike Kelly.

Roush Fenway will also continue to field its four NASCAR Sprint
Cup teams with drivers Edwards, Matt Kenseth, Greg Biffle and David
Ragan. There has been discussion of running driver Bayne in the
Daytona 500 as well. Bayne could compete outside the four-car team
limit since it’s unlikely he’ll compete the full season and rookies
are allowed to compete in a fifth car for an organization if
running a limited schedule.

Play Now!