Golf

Pettersson docked 2 shots on 1st hole

Share This Story

   
 

KIAWAH ISLAND, South Carolina (AP)

Carl Pettersson was given a two-shot penalty in the final round of the PGA Championship because a leaf moved on the opening hole.

Pettersson, three shots out of the lead to start the final round Sunday, drove just inside a hazard on the first hole. He made sure he could touch the grass with his club, as long as he didn't ground the club. He played out to the middle of the green, and PGA rules official Brad Gregory told him there might have been a violation.

After a lengthy video review, the PGA of America said a leaf moved as Pettersson took the club back. That's a violation of Rules 13-4c for moving a loose impediment in a hazard.

Pettersson was not notified until he left the fourth tee. He birdied his next two holes.

Tagged: Carl Pettersson

Related Stories

Member Comments

Please note by clicking on "Post comment" you acknowledge that you have read the Terms of Use and the comment you are posting is in compliance with such terms. Be Polite. Inappropriate posts may be removed by the moderator.

powered by



More Than Sports on MSN

Fox Sports Store