Campbell avoids 2-stroke penalty at Hong Kong

Share This Story



Hong Kong Open leader Michael Campbell has avoided a two-stroke penalty following a bizarre incident on the 10th tee during his third round Saturday.

Campbell, who is looking to end a seven-year winless drought, teed his ball up but accidently knocked the ball off the tee while taking a practice.

The New Zealander moved forward to pick-up his ball before replacing it on the tee, but fearing his actions may have incurred a penalty under the Rules of Golf, Campbell called for a ruling.

John Paramour, chief referee with the European Tour, ruled that Campbell had not addressed the ball and therefore was not in breach of the rules.

Campbell went on to par the hole and maintain a two-shot lead at 11-under par.

Tagged: Michael Campbell

Related Stories

Member Comments

Please note by clicking on "Post comment" you acknowledge that you have read the Terms of Use and the comment you are posting is in compliance with such terms. Be Polite. Inappropriate posts may be removed by the moderator.

powered by

GOLF Videos

Can Tiger Woods recapture British Open magic Posted: Jul 14, 2014
Robert Lusetich looks back at Tiger Woods' past and ahead to his future at the B...

Will Mickelson win the British Open again? Posted: Jul 14, 2014
FOX Sports 1 golf analyst Robert Lusetich discusses Phil Mickelson's chances of ...

Mickelson looks to hit his stride Posted: Jul 14, 2014
Phil Mickelson discusses his up-and-down 2014 season.

More Than Sports on MSN

Fox Sports Store