Golf

Villegas DQ’d in Hawaii for rules violation

GolfWeek Jeff Babineau
Share This Story

   
 

KAPALUA, HAWAII

Camilo Villegas likely had different designs on how he’d spend his 29th birthday on Maui. Instead, he got to the Plantation golf course at Kapalua Friday morning to prepare for the second round of the Hyundai Tournament of Champions only to be informed he wouldn’t be playing.


From event coverage to commentary and fantasy tips, Golfweek provides all you'll ever need to be up to speed on the world of golf.
 

Technically, Villegas was disqualified for Rule 6-6d (signing for a wrong score) after Round 1 of the TOC. (He signed for a double-bogey 7 at 15 and a first-round 72.) The discrepancy in score was the result of a rules infraction Villegas committed while on the 15th hole. As his chip to the raised green at the par-5 hole began to roll back to his feet, Villegas used his club to sweep away some turf debris caused by his divot.

Rule 23-1 states a player cannot remove a loose impediment that might influence the movement of his ball (When a ball is in motion, a loose impediment that might influence the movement of the ball must not be removed). The penalty for the violation is two strokes.

With the penalty, Villegas made 9 on the hole; he signed for double-bogey 7.

The PGA Tour was notified of a possible rules violation by a viewer who’d seen the opening-round telecast on Golf Channel, which no doubt will stoke a long-lingering debate: Should a golf tournament, in effect, be governed by people witnessing infractions on television?

Villegas, according to PGA Tour vice president of rules Slugger White, had no problem with the ruling.

“It makes me sick that it wasn’t recognized prior to him signing his card,” White said. “I took him down there (to the television compound) and showed him the decision. Showed him the rule. He said, ‘That’s fine.’ He could not have been better. He’s a big man.”

In a statement released by the tournament, Villegas said, “While it’s obviously a disappointing way to start the season, obviously the rules are the rules, and when something like this happens, it’s important to me that you’re respectful of the game and the people involved.”

For more on this story, go to Golfweek.com.

Related Stories

Member Comments

Please note by clicking on "Post comment" you acknowledge that you have read the Terms of Use and the comment you are posting is in compliance with such terms. Be Polite. Inappropriate posts may be removed by the moderator.

powered by



GOLF Videos

Can Tiger Woods recapture British Open magic Posted: Jul 14, 2014
Robert Lusetich looks back at Tiger Woods' past and ahead to his future at the B...

Will Mickelson win the British Open again? Posted: Jul 14, 2014
FOX Sports 1 golf analyst Robert Lusetich discusses Phil Mickelson's chances of ...

Mickelson looks to hit his stride Posted: Jul 14, 2014
Phil Mickelson discusses his up-and-down 2014 season.

More Than Sports on MSN

Fox Sports Store