Gamecocks' Wilson unanimous choice for SEC player of year

FILE - In this March 6, 2016, file photo, South Carolina head coach Dawn Staley is shown during the third quarter of an NCAA college basketball against Mississippi State in the Southeastern Conference women's tournament final in Jacksonville, Fla. Dawn Staley was chosen as The Associated Press Southeastern Conference coach of the year, for the second time in three years, announced Tuesday, March 15, 2016. (AP Photo/Gary McCullough, File)

ATLANTA (AP) South Carolina's A'ja Wilson is a unanimous choice for The Associated Press Southeastern Conference player of the year award.

The honor announced Tuesday goes the Gamecocks for the second year in a row. Tiffany Mitchell won it last season.

Wilson is a sophomore forward who led South Carolina (31-1) to a perfect league record in the regular season, a romp through the SEC tournament and a No. 1 seed in the NCAAs.

South Carolina's Dawn Staley earns coach of the year for the second time in three years. Missouri guard Sophie Cunningham is freshman of the year.

Wilson is joined on the first team by a pair of teammates: Mitchell and Alaina Coates. The other choices are Texas A&M's Courtney Walker, Kentucky's Makayla Epps and Mississippi State's Victoria Vivians.