Seven Badgers named to AP All-Big Ten football team

Ryan Ramczyk (65) blocks Michigan State defensive end Evan Jones (85) during the second quarter of their game at Spartan Stadium. (Mark Hoffman/Milwaukee Journal Sentinel via USA TODAY Sports)

Mark Hoffman/Milwaukee Journal Sentinel-USA TODAY Sports

The Wisconsin Badgers are on to their 15th straight bowl bid when they take on the Western Michigan Broncos in the Cotton Bowl Jan. 2, but the program also received good news Monday afternoon with the selection of seven players to the Associated Press All-Big Ten team.

A panel of 26 writers and broadcasters from the 11 Big Ten states selected offensive tackle Ryan Ramczyk and linebacker T.J. Watt to the first team, while running back Corey Clement, tight end Troy Fumagalli, linebacker Vince Biegel, cornerback Sojourn Shelton and safety Leo Musso were named to the second team.

Ramczyk started all 13 games for the No. 8 Badgers, while Watt finished the regular season with 59 tackles, 14.5 tackles for loss, 10.5 sacks and an interception which he returned for a touchdown; Clement led the Big 10 in rushing with 1,304 yards and averaged more than 108 per game; Fumagalli was the Badgers’ second-leading receiver with 497 yards and a touchdown; Biegel had three sacks and five tackles for loss this season; Shelton picked off four passes, one of which he returned 40 yards, along with four broken-up passes; Musso led the Badgers with five interceptions and was second on the team with 65 tackles (44 solo).

College Football Playoff-bound Ohio State led the way with eight players on the first team. The only other player named to the first team on every ballot was running back Saquon Barkley of conference champion Penn State. He was also named the conference’s Offensive Player of the Year.

Michigan linebacker Jabrill Peppers is the defensive player of the year and Ohio State running back Mike Weber the newcomer of the year. Penn State’s James Franklin is coach of the year.

Cotton Bowl Bound

The full list is below:



Quarterback–J.T. Barrett, Ohio State, 6-2, 222, Jr., Wichita Falls, Texas.

Running backs–u-Saquon Barkley, Penn State, 5-11, 223, So., Coplay, Pennsylvania; Justin Jackson, Northwestern, 5-11, 193, Jr., Carol Stream, Illinois.

Offensive tackles–Erik Magnuson, Michigan, 6-6, 305, Sr., Carlsbad, California; Ryan Ramczyk, Wisconsin, 6-6, 314, Jr., Stevens Point, Wisconsin.

Offensive guards–Dan Feeney, Indiana, 6-4, 305, Sr., Orland Park, Illinois; Billy Price, Ohio State, 6-4, 315, Jr., Austintown, Ohio.

Center–u-Pat Elflein, Ohio State, 6-3, 300, Sr., Pickerington, Ohio.

Tight end–Jake Butt, Michigan, 6-6, 250, Pickerington, Ohio.

Wide receivers–Austin Carr, Northwestern, 6-1, 200, Sr., Benicia, California; Curtis Samuel, Ohio State, 5-11, 197, Jr., Brooklyn, New York.

All-purpose player–Jabrill Peppers, Michigan, 6-1, 205, Jr., East Orange, New Jersey.

Place-kicker–Emmit Carpenter, Minnesota, 6-0, 199, So., Green Bay, Wisconsin.


Defensive ends–Taco Charlton, Michigan, 6-6, 272, Sr., Pickerington, Ohio; Tyquan Lewis, Ohio State, 6-4, 266, Jr., Tarboro, New Jersey.

Defensive tackles– Jaleel Johnson, Iowa, 6-4, 310, Sr., Lombard, Illinois; Malik McDowell, Michigan State, 6-6, 276, Jr., Detroit.

More Badgers Coverage

Linebackers–Raekwon McMillan, Ohio State, 6-2, 243, Jr., Hinesville, Georgia; Jabrill Peppers, Michigan, 6-1, 205, Jr., East Orange, New Jersey; T.J. Watt, Wisconsin, 6-5, 243, Jr. Pewaukee, Wisconsin.

Cornerbacks–Desmond King, Iowa, 5-11, 203, Sr., Detroit; u-Jourdan Lewis, Michigan, 5-11, 186, Sr., Detroit.

Safeties–Nate Gerry, Nebraska, 6-2, 220, Sr., Sioux Falls, South Dakota; Malik Hooker, Ohio State, 6-2, 205, So., New Castle, Pennsylvania.

Punter–u-Cameron Johnston, Ohio State, 5-11, 198, graduate senior, Geelong, Australia.



Quarterback–Trace McSorley, Penn State, 6-0, 205, So., Ashburn, Virginia.

Running backs–Corey Clement, Wisconsin, 5-11, 227, Sr., Glassboro, New Jersey; Mike Weber, Ohio State, 5-10, 212, Fr., Detroit.

Offensive tackles–Ben Braden, Michigan, 6-6, 335, Sr., Rockford, Michigan; Jamarco Jones, Ohio State, 6-5, 310, Jr., Chicago.

Offensive guards–Brian Allen, Michigan State, 6-2, 304, Jr., Hinsdale, Illinois; Kyle Kalis, Michigan, 6-5, 305, Sr., Lakewood, Ohio.


FS Wisconsin on Facebook

FS Wisconsin on Twitter

FS Wisconsin on YouTube

FS Wisconsin on Instagram

Center–Mason Cole, Michigan, 6-5, 305, Jr., Tarpon Springs, Florida.

Tight end–Troy Fumagalli, Wisconsin, 6-6, 248, Jr., Aurora, Illinois.

Wide receivers–Amara Darboh, Michigan, 6-2, 215, Sr., West Des Moines, Iowa; DeAngelo Yancey, Purdue, 6-2, 205, Sr., Atlanta.

All-purpose–Curtis Samuel, Ohio State, 5-11, 197, Jr., Brooklyn, New York.

Place-kicker–Tyler Davis, Penn State, 5-11, 180, Jr., St. Charles, Illinois.


Defensive ends– Ifeadi Odenigbo, Northwestern, 6-3, 265, Sr., Centerville, Ohio; Chris Wormley, Michigan, 6-6, 302, Sr., Toledo, Ohio.

Defensive tackles–Ryan Glasgow, Michigan, 6-4, 299, Sr., Aurora, Illinois; Steven Richardson, Minnesota, 6-0, 300, Jr., Chicago.

Linebackers–Vince Biegel, Wisconsin, 6-4, 245, Sr., Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin; Josey Jewell, Iowa, 6-2, 235, Decorah, Iowa; Tegray Scales, Indiana, 6-0, 230, Jr., Cincinnati.

Cornerbacks–Marshon Lattimore, Ohio State, 6-0, 192, So., Cleveland; Sojourn Shelton, Wisconsin, 5-9, 168, Sr., Fort Lauderdale, Florida.

Safeties–Godwin Igwebuike, Northwestern, 6-0, 205, Jr., Pickerington, Ohio; Leo Musso, Wisconsin, 5-10, 194, Waunakee, Wisconsin.

Punter–Kenny Allen, Michigan, 6-4, 222, Sr., Fenton, Michigan.


Coach of the year: James Franklin, Penn State.

Offensive player of the year: Saquon Barkley, Penn State.

Defensive player of the year: Jabrill Peppers, Michigan.

Newcomer of the year: Mike Weber, Ohio State.