Packers sign five from rookie minicamp

GREEN BAY, Wis. — Five of the players who were in Green Bay on a tryout basis during Packers rookie minicamp have now been signed by the team.

Fullback Jonathan Amosa (Washington), linebackers Donte Savage (New Mexico State) and Jarvis Wilson (Prairie View A&M), wide receiver Tyrone Walker (Illinois State) and 26-year-old cornerback Brandon Smith, who began in the NFL in 2011 as a wide receiver.

General manager Ted Thompson also announced that the Packers released linebacker Micah Johnson (who finished last season on Green Bay’s practice squad) and fullback Ryan Roberson, who was signed last week as an undrafted free agent.

Follow Paul Imig on Twitter.