Three Packers chosen for Pro Bowl

Aaron Rodgers and Josh Sitton (71) will be headed to the Pro Bowl in early 2016, in Honolulu, Hawaii.

Nam Y. Huh/AP

The Green Bay Packers announced on Tuesday night that quarterback Aaron Rodgers, linebacker Clay Matthews and guard Josh Sitton are all headed to this season’s Pro Bowl.

Rodgers will be headed to his fifth Pro Bowl, after also being honored by the league in 2009, 2011, 2012 and 2014. The Packers’ current QB surpasses Bart Star (1960-62, 1966) for the second-most selections by a Green Bay signal-caller, trailing only Brett Favre’s nine Pro Bowl selections (1992-93, 1995-97, 2001-03, 2007). Rodgers ranks second in the NFL this season in touchdown/interception ratio (4.83) and is third in 25-plus-yard completions (34). He has also thrown multiple touchdowns in 10 games, tied for third in the league.

Matthews earned the sixth Pro Bowl selection of his seven-year career (2009-12, 2014) and his first at inside linebacker. Matthews has two more selections than any Packers linebacker and is tied with defensive end Reggie White for the second-most selections by a defensive player in team history, trailing only safety Willie Wood’s eight selections. Matthews has 81 tackles this season and 5.5 sacks.


FS Wisconsin on Facebook

FS Wisconsin on Twitter

FS Wisconsin on YouTube

FS Wisconsin on Instagram

Sitton will be headed to the Pro Bowl for the third time (2012, 2014). He is the first Green Bay guard to be named to consecutive Pro Bowls since Marco Rivera was selected to three straight from 2002-04. Sitton has been part of an offensive line that has cleared the way for a rushing attack to average 119.5 yards per game.

Additionally, Green Bay fullback John Kuhn was named first alternate. Other alternates include receiver Randall Cobb, defensive tackle Mike Daniels, receiver James Jones, running back Eddie Lacy, guard T.J. Lang, linebacker Julius Peppers and cornerback Sam Shields.