Lott IMPACT Trophy names 10 semfinalists for 2016 award

Adoree Jackson of USC.

The Lott IMPACT Trophy announced its 10 semifinalists for the 2016 award.

The award goes to a college football defensive player who has had the biggest IMPACT on his team both and off the field. IMPACT stands for Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.

There are four safeties, four linebackers, one cornerback and one defensive lineman on the list.

The semifinalists are as follows: Jamal Adams, S, LSU; Jonathan Allen, DL, Alabama; Budda Baker, S, Washington; Adoree Jackson, CB, USC; Andrew King, LB, Army; Desmond King, CB, Iowa; Micah Kiser, LB, Virginia; Raekwon McMillian, LB, Ohio State; Jabrill Peppers, LB, Michigan and Weston Steelhammer, S, Air Force

"It is important that we recognize the character traits of our student-athletes, the ones who step forward with their leadership skills, with their commitment to their education and with their passion for helping build better communities," said Ronnie Lott, who the trophy has been named after, in a statement.

"Each year we have had young men who represent their teams and universities at the highest standard.  They exemplify all we believe in and all we are honored to promote."

A National Voter Panel, made up of former coaches, players, selected media and previous Lott IMPACT Trophy winners, will select four finalists as well as the winner, which will be announced Nov. 29. The four finalists will be flown into Newport Beach where the annual Lott IMPACT Trophy Awards Banquet will be held at the prestigious Pacific Club on Dec. 11.

Former UCLA head coach Terry Donahue will also be honored for his work on the California Showcase, an opportunity for high school football players to receive college scholarships/and or financial aid.

The keynote speaker for the banquet will be former Los Angeles Rams All-Pro defensive end Fred Dryer.