Quick wins Kings’ first Jennings Trophy; Ducks’ Murray GM of the Year

Cuba Gooding Jr. and Mark Messier present Dustin Brown  with the Messier NHL Leadership Award during the NHL Awards.

Let the Stanley Cup champion high continue.

Jonathan Quick and Kings on Tuesday won the franchise’s first Jennings Trophy for the NHL’s fewest goals allowed, hours after the star goalie underwent wrist surgery.

Anze Kopitar finished in second behind Patrice Bergeron for the Selke Trophy for the NHL’s best defensive forward, and captain Dustin Brown was given the Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award.

Across town, Ducks’ Bob Murray was named General Manager of the Year after finishing the season atop of the Western Conference before falling to the Kings in the second round of the playoffs. Kings GM Dean Lombardi finished third.  

"Dean gave me a pat on the back and said, ‘Congratulations.’ There’s a mutual respect there," Murray told reporters in a conference call. "As I said, I’d trade this one for that one if he wants to make a deal."

In Hart Trophy voting, Ducks captain Ryan Getzlaf was edged by Sidney Crosby, who captured 128 of 137 first-place votes.

"You play for the big one that the Kings have here tonight, but this is definitely nice," Crosby told the NHL Network in reference to the Kings’ Stanley Cup title.