Coaches name five Mizzou players on preseason All-SEC team

Missouri’s first foray into the Southeastern Conference didn’t go too well — Tigers faithful were none too pleased with 5-7 — and Mizzou isn’t expected to challenge for a league title this year. But SEC coaches still acknowledge the presence of talent in Columbia. Some, anyway.

The league announced the coaches’ preseason All-SEC teams, and five Tigers were named — two to the second team, three to the third. Specifically:

* E.J. Gaines, DB, senior (second team)
* Marcus Murphy, return specialist, junior (second team)
* Dorial Green-Beckham, WR, sophomore (third team)
* Justin Britt, OL, senior (third team)
* Andrew Baggett, PK, sophomore (third team)
Meanwhile, Heisman Trophy winner Johnny Manziel of Texas A&M was delegated to second-team status by the coaches — perhaps a result of all the negative publicity and possible NCAA rules infractions surrounding the sophomore. SEC coaches tabbed Georgia’s Aaron Murray as the first-team choice and Alabama’s AJ McCarron as the third-team pick.
For a complete listing of the coaches’ picks, click here.