Conor McGregor officially vacates UFC featherweight title

Conor McGregor will relinquish his UFC featherweight title

Conor Mcgregor is no longer the reigning UFC featherweight champion.

On Saturday night, ESPN confirmed the earlier the reports of McGregor relinquishing his 145-pound title. As a result the featherweight bout between Anthony Pettis vs. Max Holloway will now serve as the interim title fight in main event of UFC 206 next month.

McGregor (21-3), also the reigning lightweight champion, made history as claimed his second UFC title after finishing former lightweight champion Eddie Alvarez  at UFC 205 earlier this moth.

Holloway and Pettis were originally scheduled to throw down in the co-main event. However, an injury to  UFC light heavyweight champion Daniel Cormier forced him out of his main event title fight against Anthony Johnson. As a result UFC officials pushed for McGregor to give his his featherweight title, thus making interim champ Jose Aldo the undisputed champ, in order to make make Holloway vs. Pettis an interim title fight. The winner going on the face Aldo in a future title unification bout.

It should be noted McGregor will indeed be able to keep his lightweight title.

Pettis (19-4), the former UFC and WEC lightweight champ, was last seen walking away with a third round submission win in his featherweight debut over jiu-jitsu specialist Charles Oliveira. This victory got ‘Showtime’ back into the win column three straight decision losses to former lightweight champ Rafael dos Anjos, current champ Eddie Alvarez and the surging Edson Barbzoa.

As a result of this string of setbacks, the Roufusport product made the decision to drop down to 145-pounds in hopes of rejuvenating his fight career.

Holloway (16-3) is currently riding an incredible nine fight win streak, the longest a UFC fighter has gone without fighting for a UFC title. In his most recent effort, the young Hawaiian earned an impressive decision win over former title challenger Ricardo Lamas at UFC 199 in June.

Prior to this win, Holloway scored back-to-back stoppage wins over Cub Swanson and Oliveira before earning a decision over Jeremy Stephens. To date, his last loss came at the hands of current featherweight champion Conor McGregor in August 2013.

UFC 206 is set to go down on December 10 at the Air Canada Centre in Toronto.

Here is how the rest of the main card is shaping up:

  • Max Holloway vs. Anthony Pettis – for interim UFC featherweight title
  • Matt Brown vs. Donald Cerrone
  • Dooho Choi vs. Cub Swanson
  • Tim Kennedy vs. Kelvin Gastelum
  • Emil Meek vs. Jordan Mein
  • Misha Cirkunov vs. Nikita Krylov
  • Olivier Aubin-Mercier vs. Drew Dober
  • Valerie Letourneau vs. Viviane Pereira
  • John Makdessi vs. Lando Vannata
  • Rustam Khabilov vs. Jason Saggo
  • Mitch Gagnon vs. Matthew Lopez
  • Zach Makovsky vs. Dustin Ortiz

This article originally appeared on