Serena Williams named WTA’s Player of the Year

Serena Williams has been named the WTA’s Player of the Year

after winning major titles at Wimbledon and the U.S. Open and

claiming gold at the London Olympics.

Williams, who has won 15 Grand Slam singles titles and four

Olympic gold medals, was 48-2 over the final seven months of the


It is the fourth time Williams has won the award, which is voted

on by international tennis media. She also was named Player of the

Year in 2002, 2008 and 2009.

Only Steffi Graf (eight times) and Martina Navratilova (seven

times) have won the award more than Williams.