FRENCH OPEN ’11: Tournament at a glance

A look at the French Open, the year’s second Grand Slam tennis


Site: Roland Garros in Paris.

Surface: Clay courts.

Schedule: The 15-day tournament begins Sunday. The women’s

singles final is June 4; the men’s singles final is June 5.

2010 Men’s Singles Champion: Rafael Nadal of Spain.

2010 Women’s Singles Champion: Francesca Schiavone of Italy.

Last Year: Nadal beat Robin Soderling of Sweden 6-4, 6-2, 6-4 to

win his fifth French Open title. It was Soderling’s second

consecutive runner-up finish at Roland Garros; he upset Roger

Federer in the quarterfinals. Schiavone became the first Italian

woman to win a Grand Slam singles title by beating Sam Stosur of

Australia 6-4, 7-6 (2). Less than a month shy of 30, Schiavone was

the oldest woman since 1969 to win her first major tennis


Key Statistic I: 37-0 – Novak Djokovic’s record in 2011, the

best start to a tennis season by a man since John McEnroe went 42-0

to begin 1984.

Key Statistic II: 38-1 – Nadal’s career record at the French

Open. The only loss came to Soderling in the fourth round in 2009.

Nadal will be trying to equal Bjorn Borg’s record of six French

Open titles.

Prize Money: Total is ?17,520,000 (about $25 million), with ?1.2

million (about $1.7 million) each to the men’s and women’s singles