Agassi heads nominees for Tennis Hall of Fame

Andre Agassi heads the list of 2011 nominees for the

International Tennis Hall of Fame.

Owner of a career Grand Slam and an eight-time major champion,

Agassi is the only nominee in the recent player category. He

retired in 2006.

Also on the 2010 ballot, announced by the Hall on Wednesday:

Thelma Coyne Long and Christine Truman Janes in the master player

category, and Mike Davies and Fern Lee ”Peachy” Kellmeyer in the

contributor category.

The inductees will be announced early next year.

Australia’s Long won 19 Grand Slam titles in singles, doubles

and mixed doubles during a career from 1935-58. Britain’s Janes won

the French Open singles title in 1959.