Uruguay opens WC qualifying with a win

BY foxsports • October 7, 2011

Luis Suarez and Edinson Cavani scored the other goals for Uruguay, which won the Copa America in July—the continental championship.

Suarez scored in the third minute with Rudy Cardozo equalizing in the 17th. Lugano and Cavani added goals later in the first half with Lugano stretching the lead to 4-1 in the 71st minute. Marcelo Martins made it 4-2 with a penalty in the 86th.

Uruguay dominated with largely the same team that won the Copa America. Uruguay also finished fourth in the 2010 World Cup, the best finish of any South American team.

Uruguay striker Diego Forlan had several clear chances but failed to finish, keeping the outcome closer than it might have been.

Uruguay plays at Paraguay on Tuesday in another qualifier. Bolivia is home on Tuesday against Colombia.


Uruguay: Fernando Muslera, Martin Caceres, Diego Lugano, Diego Godin, Maximiliano Pereira, Diego Perez, Egidio Arevalo Rios, Alvaro Pereira (Jorge Fucile, 56), Edinson Cavani (Christian Rodriguez 70), Luis Suarez, Diego Forlan.

Bolivia: Carlos Arias, Ronald Raldes, Ronald Rivero, Christian Vargas, Luis Gutierrez, Walter Flores, Jaime Robles, Edivaldo Rojas (Joselito Vaca, 60), Rudy Cardozo, Mauricio Saucedo (Alcides Pena, 45), Marcelo Martins.

share story