Sturridge escapes FA punishment

BY foxsports • March 25, 2010

Smith sustained a broken nose after being caught by Sturridge's elbow but the FA have not classed the incident as "off-the-ball", meaning referee Lee Mason was deemed to have dealt with it at the time. In an incident earlier in the game Sturridge's team-mate Florent Malouda was booked for an aerial collision with defender Ricardo Rocha which resulted in the centre-back sustaining a suspected fractured cheekbone. As Mason dealt with the offence at the time no further action will be taken.


share story