Luxembourg holds Belarus to goalless draw

BY foxsports • October 8, 2010

Luxembourg held 10-man Belarus to a 0-0 draw in their European Championship qualifier on Friday.

Belarus was outnumbered after forward Sergei Kornilenko was sent off for a foul on defender Guy Blaise in the 69th minute. The host, though, could not take advantage and was even lucky to escape with a draw at the Josy Barthel Stadium.

The result gives Belarus five points from three matches in Group D and a share of the lead with Albania. Luxembourg won its first point of the qualifying campaign.



Luxembourg: Jonathan Joubert; Kim Kintziger, Guy Blaise, Eric Hoffmann, Tom Schnell; Rene Peters, Tom Laterza Gilles Bettmer (Lars Gerson, 62) Ben Payal (Michel Kettenmeyer, 77) Charles Leweck, Aurelien Joachim (Daniel Da Mota, 66).

Belarus: Yuri Zhevnov; Aleksandr Kulchiy, Aleksandr Martynovich, Timofei Kalachev Aleksandr Yurevich (Dmitri Molosh, 87) Yan Tigorev (Anton Putilo, 67) Sergei Omelyanchuk, Sergei Kornilenko, Vyacheslav Hleb (Vitali Rodionov, 67) Sergei Kislyak, Igor Shitov.

share story