Denmark without Agger for Euro 2012 qualifiers

BY foxsports • September 28, 2011

Denmark coach Morten Olsen will rely on a mostly unchanged squad for upcoming European Championship qualifiers against Cyprus and Portugal.

Liverpool defender Daniel Agger is the most notable absence after fracturing a rib, while Sunderland striker Nicklas Bendtner leads the attack again after scoring twice in a 2-0 win over Norway that kept the Danes in the hunt for a spot at Euro 2012.

Goalkeepers Thomas Sorensen of Stoke and Anders Lindegaard of Manchester United were included in Wednesday's 20-man squad, as were midfielders Martin Jorgensen, Dennis Rommedahl, Christian Eriksen and Michael Krohn-Dehli.

Liverpool midfielder Christian Poulsen remains out of the team.

Denmark, Portugal and Norway share 13 points in Group H, which also features Iceland and Cyprus. Denmark and Portugal hold a game in hand over the Norwegians, however.

Denmark plays at Cyprus Oct. 7 before hosting Portugal in Copenhagen on Oct. 11.

The nine group winners and the top second-place team all advance to the tournament in Poland and the Ukraine, while the remaining eight runners-up meet in a playoff for the final spots.



Goalkeepers: Anders Lindegaard (Manchester United), Thomas Sorensen (Stoke), Stephan Andersen (Evian Thonon).

Defenders: Lars Jacobsen (FC Copenhagen), Michael Silberbauer (Young Boys), Simon Kjaer (AS Roma), Bo Svensson (Mainz), Andreas Bjelland (FC Nordsjaelland), Simon Busk Poulsen (AZ Alkmaar), Jesper Juelsgaard (FC Midtjylland).

Midfielders: William Kvist (Stuttgart), Niki Zimling (FC Brugge), Martin Jorgensen (AGF Aarhus), Jakob Poulsen (FC Midtjylland), Dennis Rommedahl (Brondby), Christian Eriksen (Ajax), Michael Krohn-Dehli (Brondby), Lasse Schone (NEC Nijmegen).

Forwards: Nicolai Jorgensen (Bayer Leverkusen), Nicklas Bendtner (Sunderland).

share story