Costa Rica names 31-man preliminary Gold Cup squad

Costa Rica names 31-man preliminary Gold Cup squad

Published May. 14, 2011 1:00 a.m. ET

Forwards Bryan Ruiz and Alvaro Saborio head a list of 31 players named by Costa Rica's coach on Friday to a preliminary squad for the Gold Cup in June.

Ruiz plays with FC Twente in the Netherlands, while Saborio is a member of Real Salt Lake in Major League Soccer. Midfielder Diego Madrigal of Paraguay's Cerro Porteno club was also named to the preliminary squad.

Coach Ricardo La Volpe will trim the squad to 23 by the CONCACAF deadline of May 20.

The June 5-25 tournament will be held in the United States and features teams from North and Central America and the Caribbean. Costa Rica will play in Group A alongside defending champion Mexico, El Salvador and Cuba.


Costa Rica's best performance was in 2002 when it lost in the final to the U.S.



Goalkeepers: Keylor Navas (Albacete), Donny Grant (San Carlos), Esteban Alvarado (AZ Alkmaar).

Defenders: Bryan Oviedo (Nordsjaelland), Joseph Centeno (Limon FC), Oscar Duarte (Saprissa), Dave Myrie (Limon FC), Jose Mena (Saprissa), Dennis Marshall (Aalborg BK), Heiner Mora (Saprissa), Pedro Leal (Puntarenas FC), Jhonny Acosta (Alajuelense), Derrick Jhonson (Limon FC), Junior Diaz (Club Brugge), Jose Salvatierra (Alajuelense), Cristian Gamboa (Fredrikstad).

Midfielders: David Guzman (Saprissa), Diego Madrigal (Cerro Porteno, Paraguay), Celso Borges (Fredrikstad) Jose Miguel Cubero (Herediano), Allen Guevara (Alajuelense), Alvaro Sanchez (San Carlos), Jorge Gatgens (Perez Zeledon).

Forwards: Marco Urena (Kuban Krasnodar), Josue Martinez (Saprissa), Cristian Bolanos (Copenhagen), Bryan Ruiz (Twente), Randall Brenes (Cartagines), Cesar Elizondo (Perez Zeledon), Joel Campbell (Puntarenas FC), Alvaro Saborio (Real Salt Lake)