Armenia beats Slovakia 3-1 in Euro qualifying

October 8, 2010

Two second-half goals helped Armenia secure a 3-1 win over Slovakia on Friday in a 2012 European Championship qualifier.

Yura Movsisyan, Gevorg Gazaryan and Henrik Mkhitaryan each scored in a game that Armenia dominated.

Movsisyan opened the scoring in the 23rd minute, but Vladimir Weiss equalized for the visitors in the 37th. Gazaryan restored the lead early in the second half and Mkhitaryan made it 3-1 in the 89th.

Movsisyan's goal came after he connected with Marcos Pizzelli's long pass and surged through to score past Jan Mucha with a low shot from 11 meters (yards) out.


Movsisyan almost scored his second a minute later when he forced Mucha into a reflex save with a powerful free kick from 18 meters.

He then narrowly missed connecting with Levon Pacharyan's headed pass from a corner in the 28th.

Slovakia's Liverpool defender Martin Skrtel glanced an early header inches wide from a left-flank free kick.

Weiss then broke through past two defenders and shot past Roman Berezovsky to equalize as Slovakia temporarily seized the initiative.

But the home side wasted several more opportunities before the interval.

Gazaryan restored the host's lead by scoring into the empty net after Mucha and Skrtel failed to control the ball following a cross into the box from the right.

Two minutes later, Movsisyan again forced Mucha to a save with a low drive from outside the box.

Berezovsky blocked Kornel Salata's header from a corner in the 65th. Weiss and Salata came close to equalizing several more times before Gazaryan set up the third goal with a pass from the right.

Mkhitaryan moved into the center and scored with a long-range shot.

Armenia has four points after three games in Group B. Slovakia has six.

Ireland, Russia, Andorra and FYR Macedonia are also in the group.

''The loss is my fault,'' said Slovakia coach Vladimir Weiss - the father of the goalscorer. ''The result is to Ireland's and Russia's favor.''



Armenia: Roman Berezovsky, Karlen Mkrtchyan, Sargis Hovsepyan, Robert Arzumanyan (Ararat Arakelyan, 79), Marcos Pizzelli (Artur Edigaryan, 72), Gevorg Gazaryan, Yura Movsisyan, Hrayr Mkoyan, Levon Pachajyan (Edgar Manucharyan, 46), Artak Edigaryan, Henrik Mkhitaryan.

Slovakia: Jan Mucha, Peter Pekarik, Martin Skrtel, Radoslav Zabavnik (Filip Sebo, 81), Miroslav Karhan, Vladimir Weiss, Stanislav Sestak, Miroslav Stoch (Filip Holosko, 57), Kamil Kopunek (Juraj Kucka, 57), Kornel Salata, Marek Hamsik.